Seven LGBTQ Public Officials Selected for Prestigious David Bohnett Leaders Fellowship at Harvard Kennedy School

Washington, DC – Today Victory Institute announced it selected seven LGBTQ elected and public officials for its David Bohnett Leaders Fellowship, a program that includes a three-week intensive leadership development course at the Harvard Kennedy School of Government. The fellowship – a collaboration with the David Bohnett Foundation – aims to propel LGBTQ leaders into the next stage of their public service careers. Notable alumni include U.S. Rep. Kyrsten Sinema, California Senate President Pro Tem Toni Atkins, Colorado State Senator Dominick Moreno, and Texas gubernatorial candidate Sheriff Lupe Valdez.

“These seven Bohnett Leaders Fellows were chosen because of their tremendous leadership abilities and commitment to advancing equality through public service,” said Mayor Annise Parker, President & CEO of LGBTQ Victory Fund. “As a 2005 alum of the program, I am confident these seven fellows will leave Harvard Kennedy School better prepared to advance their careers and make a greater impact on those they serve.”

The 2018 Bohnett Leaders Fellows are:

Park Cannon, Georgia House of Representatives, District 58

Gregory Ford, Wake County (NC) Board of Commissioners, District 6

Rob Galperin, Los Angeles City Controller

Jess Herbst, former Mayor of New Hope (TX)

Andrea Jenkins, Minneapolis City Council

Byron Macfarlane, Howard County Register of Wills (MD)

Fernando Ramirez, Special Assistant/Policy Advisor, Office of Los Angeles County Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas

More about the 2018 Bohnett Leaders Fellowship class is available at

About Victory Institute

Victory Institute works to increase the number of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people in public office and to provide programming, service, and other support to ensure their success.