Equality Act Introduced by House and Senate Leaders; LGBTQ Members of Congress Lead Efforts for Floor Vote

Washington, DC – Today the Equality Act – a federal civil rights law that would ban discrimination against LGBTQ people in employment, housing, public accommodations and education – was introduced by Democratic leaders in the House and Senate, including out LGBTQ Senator Tammy Baldwin and out LGBTQ Representative David Cicilline. All ten openly LGBTQ members of Congress have led efforts to pass the Equality Act, and while It is likely to come up for vote and pass in the Democratic-controlled House, its fate in the Senate is less clear.

LGBTQ Victory Institute President & CEO Annise Parker released the following statement about the bill’s introduction:

“For more than a decade, LGBTQ members of Congress have been the strongest proponents and best advocates of legislation to end legalized discrimination against LGBTQ people in the United States. When lawmakers were on-the-fence, LGBTQ members of Congress shared stories and humanized the issue to change hearts and change votes. Today, Senator Baldwin and Representative David Cicilline played key roles in introducing the Equality Act, an enormous moment for our community and a continuation of that legacy of LGBTQ leadership on this issue. All ten openly LGBTQ members of Congress are ready to go on the offensive – with our allies – to ensure their colleagues understand this vote is a moral choice between fairness or discrimination.”

The two openly LGBTQ members of the U.S. Senator are Tammy Baldwin and Kyrsten Sinema. The eight openly LGBTQ members of the U.S. Congress are David Cicilline, Angie Craig, Sharice Davids, Katie Hill, Sean Patrick Maloney, Chris Pappas, Mark Pocan and Mark Takano.

About LGBTQ Victory Institute

LGBTQ Victory Institute works to increase the number of LGBTQ people in public office and to provide programming, service, and other support to ensure their success.