LGBTQ Appointments in the Biden - Harris Administration

As of April 29, 2021 – the 100 Days mark of Joe Biden’s presidency – over 200 known LGBTQ people have been appointed to his administration, the most in history at this point in any administration.

LGBTQ Victory Institute’s Presidential Appointments Initiatives advocates for LGBTQ appointments and tracks the success. Below is a list of more than 100 LGBTQ appointees whose names are publicly available.

Executive Office of the President

Alex Haskell, Senior Deputy Associate Counsel, Presidential Personnel Office

Andrew Hebbler, Assistant Director for Health and Life Sciences, OSTP

Anthony Bernal, Sr. Advisor to FLOTUS Dr. Jill Biden

Bechara Choucair, Vaccination Coordinator

Brendan Cohen, Platform Manager

Carlos Elizondo, White House Social Secretary

Connor Goddard, Senior Associate Director at the White House

Curtis Ried, Senior Director of Multilateral Affairs, NSC

David Nurnberg, Associate Director Office of the Social Secretary

David Gins, Office of the Vice President

Edgar Estrada, Associate Director of Special Projects and Special Assistant to the Second Gentleman

Ella Lipin, Senior Advisor, NSC

Emmy Ruiz, Director of Political Strategy and Outreach

Ernesto Apreza, Office of Public Engagement – Latino Engagement

Garret Lamm, Deputy Director of Presidential Correspondence

Gautam Raghavan, Deputy Director, Presidential Personnel Office

Grace Smith, Scheduler, Council of Environmental Quality

Hannah Bristol, Associate Director of Public Engagement

Howard Ou, Associate Director of Public Engagement

Ike Hajinazarian, Regional Communications Director

Jamie Citron, Special Assistant to the President for Presidential Personnel

Jamie Keene, Domestic Policy Council

Jason Tengco, White House Liaison

Jeff Marootian, Special Assistant to the President for Climate and Science Agency Personnel

Jesse Bernstein, Director for Human Rights and Civil Society at NSC

John W. McCarthy, Senior Advisor to the Counselor to the President

Jordan Finkelstein, Special Assistant to Anita Dunn

Jordan Orosz, Deputy Associate Counsel and Tax Counsel, Presidential Personnel Office

Karine Jean-Pierre, Deputy Press Secretary

Kei Koizumi, Chief of Staff, Office of Science and Technology Policy

Kevin Muños, Assistant Press Secretary

Kings Floyd, Researcher, Presidential Personnel Office

Matt Hill, Senior Associate Communications Director

Matthew Hernandez, Personnel Vetting Chief of Staff, Presidential Personnel Office

Michael Kikukawa, Press Assistant Office of Communications

Michael LaRosa, Press Secretary to Dr. Jill Biden, First Lady of the United States

Olivia Raisner, Traveling Content Director

Pili Tobar, Deputy White House Communications Director

Reggie Greer, Director of Priority Placement and Senior Advisor on LGBTQ+ Engagement

Stephen Goepfert, Special Assistant to the President

Stuart Delery, Deputy Counsel to the President

Terry Moynihan, Deputy Director for Research

Thomas Isen, Special Assistant

Tom Zimmerman, Special Assistant to the President for National Security Personnel, NSC

William Rusche, Research Lead, Presidential Personnel Office

Zachary Bernstein, Director for Strategic Stability and Regional Security, NSC


Department of Veteran Affairs

Kayla Williams, Assistant Secretary, Office of Public and Intergovernmental Affairs

U.S. Mission to the UN

Josh Black, Senior Advisor to the U.S Ambassador to the UN

U.S. Department of the Treasury

Aditi Hardikar, Senior Advisor to the Deputy Secretary

United States Agency for International Development

Eric Jacobstein, Senior Advisor for Latin America and the Caribbean

Small Business Association

Julie Verratti, Associate Administrator of Field Operations

Mark Madrid, Associate Administrator for the Office of Entrepreneurial Development

Peace Corps

Dave Noble, Chief of Staff

Department of Housing and Urban Development

Ben Winter, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy Development

Jenn Jones, Chief of Staff

Solomon Greene, Assistant Secretary for Policy Development and Research**

Steve Lucas, Special Assistant to the Assistant Secretary for Public and Indian Housing

Department of Health and Human Services

Dr. Rachel Levine, Assistant Secretary for Health*

AJ Pearlman, Chief of Staff, COVID-19 Response

Brian Altman, Deputy Director for the Administration on Aging at Administration for Community Living

Daniel Tartakovsky, Associate Director of Science and Policy, Office of the Surgeon General

Hannah Katch, Senior advisor at the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Laura Durso, Chief of Staff for Civil Rights

Larry Handerhan, Chief of Staff and Senior Advisor Administration for Children and Families

Sarah Boateng, Chief of Staff

Export-Import Bank of the United States

Chris Van Es, Senior Vice President for Communication and External Engagement

Department of Education

Levi Bohanan, Special Assistant Office of Elementary and Secondary Education

Rich Williams, Chief of Staff to the Assistant Secretary

Suzanne Goldberg, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Strategic Operations and Outreach, Office for Civil Rights

Department of Transportation

Arlando Teller, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Tribal Affairs

Charlene Wang, Special Assistant, Federal Highway Administration

Dani Simons, Director of Public Affairs

Pete Buttigieg, Secretary of Transportation*

Philip McNamara, Assistant Secretary for Administration

Department of State

Ariane Tabatabai, Senior Advisor for the Under Secretary of State for Arms Control and International Security

Francisco Bencosme, Senior Advisor for East Asia

Ned Price, Spokesperson

Rufus Gifford, Chief of Protocol

Department of Labor

Patrick Oakford, Chief of Staff for the Assistant Secretary for Policy

Wendy Chun-Hoon, Women’s Bureau Director

Department of the Interior

Giovanni Rocco, Deputy Press Secretary

Tyler Cherry, Press Secretary

Winnie Stachelberg, Assistant Secretary for Policy, Management, and Budget**

Department of Energy

David Mayorga, Director of Public Affairs

Jeremiah Baumann, Deputy Chief of Staff

Robert Golden, Special Advisor to the Chief of Staff

Suzanne Steele, Special Assistant to the White House Liaison

Tarak Shah, Chief of Staff

Department of Defense

Beth George, Principal Deputy General Counsel

Farouk Ophaso, Senior Advisor, Office of the Under Secretary of Defense (Comptroller)

Gina Ortiz Jones, Under Secretary of the Air Force**

Jamal Brown, Deputy Press Secretary

Jesse Salazar, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense Industrial Policy

Matt Williams, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Senate Affairs

Richard Johnson, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense (Countering Weapons of Mass Destruction

Shawn Skelly, Assistant secretary manpower and reserve affairs**

Sue Fulton, Deputy Under Secretary of Defense for Personnel and Readiness**

Will Goodwin, Deputy Chief of Staff for the Secretary of the Army

Office of the Director of National Intelligence

Christy Abizaid, Director of National Counterterrorism Center

Department of Homeland Security

Adam Hunter, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Immigration

Chris Magnus, Commissioner of Customs and Border Protection

U.S. Census Bureau

Meghan Maury, Senior Advisor

U.S. International Development Finance Corporation

Aparna Shrivastava, Deputy Chief Climate Officer

U.S. Board and Commissions

Cathy Harris, Chair of the Merit Systems Protection Board**


Are you an out LGBTQ appointee?

Let us know. Please reach out to Jonathan Dromgoole at [email protected]

Updated May 11th, 2021

* Nominated and Senate-confirmed
** Nominated, Pending Senate-confirmed